Linen Underrated

My favorite season is finally upon us! The warmer days are here and I’m so excited to finally get rid of my San Francisco “tan”. Now that I’ve been living in Sonoma County again, my skin is finally regaining some color.

My everyday work attire has been dresses, skirts, and jumpsuits. Don’t even ask me how many new dresses I’ve bought this summer because it’s kind of embarrassing.

One fabric that I have been totally into this season is linen. In the US, linen is so underrated and I feel like people don’t know what they’re missing out on! Last summer my sister gave me my first linen clothes, a matching off the shoulder top and high waisted crop pants, and I fell in love. Linen is super casual, breathable, light, and gives an effortless “I woke up like this” vibe. The only thing that is annoying about linen is when you’re trying to keep it nice and crisp looking it wrinkles even if you blink your eye.

For my birthday, I treated myself to some new clothes as birthday presents, including some new linen pieces!

"Linen Underrated" A Cup of Tee"Linen Underrated" A Cup of Tee

I first saw this linen dress on Urban Outfitters’ Instagram and then a few of my favorite bloggers posted this dress on their personal Instagrams. I couldn’t stop thinking about it that I just yolo’d and bought it full price. I just had to fully commit. Besides the pockets, my favorite part about this dress is the shorter inner slip. Linen fabric is so light that many times it can be see through. With this dress, the inner slip is still light enough that you don’t feel any extra weight but you also don’t need to worry about your colorful panties showing.

IMG_9694IMG_9662

Okay, did anyone else notice that Abercrombie is kinda stepping up their game? I check into Abercrombie every so often to see what they got going on and I stumbled upon this jumpsuit. I tried to get myself to stop thinking about it, but when I saw it at the mall in my size and that it was 40% off I had to get it. My favorite part of the jumpsuit is the fully adjustable tie strings. I have short shoulders so when tops/dresses/jumpsuits don’t have adjustable straps it makes me a little weary. Not with this baby. I pulled this strings as tight as possible to make sure this thing fit me, and thankfully it did.

"Linen Underrated" A Cup of Tee"Linen Underrated" A Cup of Tee

My first linen pieces! This will always have a special place in my heart because my sister has the same set but in navy. I remember the first day I wore this, I was on vacation in Europe and it was so hot. Even though I was wearing pants, I wasn’t sweating into my clothes.

I have a feeling this summer is going to be a hot one, soooo if you’re looking for something that will keep you from overheating this summer definitely consider linen! I got your back and I’ve been bookmarking some places I’ve been online window shopping for linen clothes.

  1. Abercrombie
  2. Urban Outfitters
  3. Tobi
  4. Everlane
  5. Asos
  6. Gap

I hope you’re having a great start to your summer! Wear sunscreen and drink lots of water!

♡ Kristina

2 thoughts on “Linen Underrated

Leave a Reply

