Home Away From Home

Wow. April went by so fast. The first two weeks of April I went to Europe to visit my family! The first week I just spent time with my brother and his family and the second week was with my parents and brother in Florence, Italy.

A Cup of Tee: Home Away From HomeIMG_7389A Cup of Tee: Home Away From HomeIMG_7501

My brother and his family live in Switzerland. I absolutely love visiting them and being able to spend quality bonding time with my brother, my sister-in-law, and my two adorable nieces. Fortunately for me, the week I was in Switzerland was beautiful and we had great weather. It had just rained the week before so everything was blooming at once. Unfortunately for me, I had the worst allergies I have ever had in my whole life because everything was blooming at once. I went through at least 3 Kleenex packs. I couldn’t stop sneezing, sniffling, or blowing my nose. It wasn’t the cute version of blowing my nose either.

A Cup of Tee: Home Away From Home

I also learned how to make homemade pasta, specifically tagliatelle. My sister (I’ll be referring to her as my sister and not my sister-in-law now since you know the connection lol) is Swiss-Italian and taught me her aunt’s homemade pasta recipe. Let me tell you, that pasta is BOOMMMBBB. If I had all the time in the world, I would make pasta from scratch every week. Another blog post about all the foods I ate/made during my trip is in the works!

Guys, I attempted to save my niece from riding her tricycle down a hill. And it turned out okay for her and just alright for me.

We took her to the park where she could ride her tricycle. There was one corner of the park that starts as a not so steep hill but then goes straight down into a fence. My niece, not knowing how to use her brakes, went around the curve a little faster than she should’ve and started going straight down the hill. I’m sitting across the park from her, toss everything out of my lap, and sprint as fast as I can to try and cut her off from running into the fence. As I’m sprinting down to the hill to cut her off, I end up running full force into the fence LOL By the time I make it to my niece she already fell off of her bike and was laying there with a stunned look on her face. I picked her up, made sure she was okay, and was so glad she wasn’t crying. I brushed her off, told her to go slower next time and she went back to riding her cute little pink tricycle. As for me, I ended up with a cut and a bruise on my shoulder.  Tita, taking one for the team haha

I also bought a new purse from Coccinelle, an Italian purse brand similar to Rebecca Minkoff and Kate Spade. I discovered them when I was in Europe last year and have been addicted to them ever since.

A Cup of Tee: Home Away From Home

The purse I treated myself to is called the Cross Over Bag on the US website or the Mini Bandoliera on the Italian website. I got my purse in the color Ivory, which is sadly no longer available on either the US or Italian websites. What I love about this purse is that it comes with two straps: one that matches the same material as the body of the purse, and one that is more of a statement shoulder strap made of a woven string material? I have no idea lol So depending on the vibes you’re feeling that day you can change the shoulder strap. I bought my purse in a town near the Swiss-Italian border because 1. it’s cheaper in Italy and 2. I also receive the tax back through my sister because she/we are not Italian citizens so we don’t have to pay the taxes there. It was about $60 cheaper than what it would be if I bought it in the US.

I truly love visiting Switzerland and it’s starting to become my home away from home. I will take any chance I can get to spend time with my brother and his family. I can’t wait to go back soon.

Stay tuned for part 2 of my Europe Trip in Florence!

♡Kristina

4 thoughts on “Home Away From Home

Leave a Reply

