Dear Vogue Editors

I found fashion blogs when I was in late middle school/early high school (circa. 2008-2009). I don’t even remember how I found the fashion blogging world considering the internet was brand new at the time.

I could read their blogs literally FOREVER. Aimee Song from Song of Style, Wendy Nguyen from Wendy’s Lookbook, Julie Sariñana from Sincerely Jules, Susie Bubbles, Chiara Ferragni from The Blonde Salad, Jean from Extra Petite, just to name a few. For the first time in my life, I found girls who looked like me, had similar body types as me, had the same insecurities as me, and yet had impeccable style I was dying to copy. I finally had fashion role models!

Everyday when I got home from school, I would grab a snack and go through my Bloglovin’ account to catch up on all of my blogs. I admired them. I wished I could convince my parents to let me buy the clothes I saw these girls wear. Instead, I would spend hours upon hours going through my closet trying to make similar outfits that I saw on these fashion blogs and took pictures of my outfits with my brother’s webcam as my own way to document in a “fashion diary”. Coming from a small suburban town, I didn’t know anyone who liked fashion as much as I did in the way that I did. Because of these blogs, fashion now became more relatable than ever. I had a source of inspiration. I have followed their blogs and their amazing and well-earned success since then.

To the Vogue Editors who say “Please stop…You are heralding the death of style.” and so on, these so-called “fashion bloggers” have positively affected the same industry you have worked to keep alive. They have transformed the fashion world making it more relatable and accessible than ever. Young women and men like me are able to admire people they can relate to who have “made it” in such a cut throat field.

No, they are not killing style or fashion or the fashion industry. They have added a new dimension to this field and have helped your magazine and online presence stay relevant. If anything, just embrace the fact that fashion bloggers are here to stay. You’ve already paid them to put their street styles shots in your magazine anyway.

Leave a comment