Mindfulness

I’ve been reading Buzzfeed’s recent articles on mindfulness which basically is being mindful of your surroundings and to present in the moment. I’ve noticed that many people my age (myself included) try to do many different tasks at once. We end up getting distracted and worrying about the other 5,000 things on our mind. If we all just tried to focus on one task at a time, I’m sure we would all be more productive and the quality of work would be much higher. Also, we would have a better connection and time well spent in our relationships by being present in the moment rather than creating a technological wall between you and whomever you’re spending time with.

I will be the first to admit that I am one of those millennials who is always on their phone. After traveling to other countries and having ZERO cell reception besides wifi in hotels, malls, restaurants, etc., I realized not being up to date on all social media platforms will not cause the Earth to stop. I was much more present in the moment and enjoyed my time with my family. If I can be present in the moment in a foreign country, then I am perfectly capable of doing it here.

Leave a Reply

