Almost an Adult

The first day of my last semester of college is starting in two days… That was fast. I still remember being in my senior year of high school thinking of what my life would be like when I go off to college and start to transition into adulthood. Here I am. Almost a full on adult.

In my senior year of high school I was so sure of where I wanted to go to college and where I wanted to be. I wanted to go to a college in Southern California far away from my parents. I was ready for warm weather, being tan, and no over protective Asian parental supervision. I wanted to be a fashion merchandising major when I applied for colleges which limited my choices very quickly. I toured FIDM and was so excited to get the chance of going to a school that was everything I wanted to learn and live about. In the car ride home after the tour, my parents looked at me and said, “If this is what you want to do, we will fully support you. Just know that you’ll have to take out school loans and graduate with debt. OR we can send you to a state college and you can graduate debt free.” I made the decision rather quickly that I would rather go to a state school and graduate with no debt.

I am so happy with the choice that I made to attend a state college closer to home and so were my parents. My first year of college I took mostly GE classes and joined the fashion club that was closely associated with the fashion program at the school. I knew right away that a fashion merchandising major was not a good fit for me. Thats when I decided to switch to Marketing. (My parents told me to choose Marketing when I started applying to colleges, but stubborn teenage me was set on Fashion Merchandising. I swear, they always know best.) I knew that I still wanted to be in some part of the fashion industry, but I would just have a business background instead.

Fast forward to three years later… I will be graduating in four years (which is quite the accomplishment these days) and have a degree in Marketing. I still have high hopes for breaking into some aspect of the fashion industry. After graduating, I hope to get a corporate retail job and still live in San Francisco. I am very happy with where I ended up going to college. I’m also happy that I chose to stay close enough to my parents and my extended family. I’ve grown much closer to my parents and I appreciate and love them that much more. I’m having the best time of my life and I live in one of the best cities in the world that people DREAM of visiting. I’m ready but not ready to be a full fledged adult.

Here’s to finishing the last chapter of my college life with a bang and starting the first exciting chapter of my post-college life! Cheers!

Leave a Reply

